Gemologists team at Nantes

The team of gemologists at Nantes is made of university teachers and researchers. We work a lot with local partners (private consultants) and lab gemologists all over the world.

Emmanuel Fritsch

dr-emmanuel-fritschDr. Emmanuel Fritsch, G.G., is professor of physics aht the university of Nantes since 1995.  He obtained his PhD in geophysics and internal geodynamics at the university of Paris VII in 1985, on the coloration of industrial silica glasses by impurities. Then he joined the GIA team (Gemological Institute of America), fist as a post-doc fellow, then Research gemologist. He was manager of the Research from 1993 to 1995. He is now in charge of the several gemological programs at Nantes, including the DUG in which he is the master teacher. On the research side, he works on many gemological topics: the origin of color in gems (especially diamond), the use of spectroscopic methods for gemological problems, and the relationship between properties of gems and the geological conditions of their formation. He recently focused on opals and pigments in pearls and corals (see our publications). Contact : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Benjamin Rondeau

benjamin-rondeauDr. Benjamin Rondeau is Professor-Assistant at the Planetology and Geodynamics lab of the University of Nantes, gemologist and mineralogist. He obtained his DUG diploma in 1998 on the structure and coloration of common opals, then his PhD in 2003 on the interest of natural history collections for research in gemology. He has been working at the National Museum of Natural History (Paris, France) from 1999 to 2007 as curator-assistant on gems, minerals and rocks collections. He co-organized numerous exhibitions including DIAMONDS in 2001. He joined the GemTeam at Nantes in 2007. His research areas include geology of gems (diamond and opal as favorites) and the link with provenance determination.

Bernard Lasnier

bernard-lasnierBernard Lasnier, Emeritus professor, spent all his career at the university of Nantes. He is a petrologist of deep crustal and mantellic rocks. He turned toward gemology during the 80's, as he began to work on the gitology of gem deposits (mostly corundum). Bernard Lasnier founded the DUG in 1982 in response to the demand of professional jewelers. In 1987, he also created the CRG, Centre de Recherches  Gemmologique, association initially aimed to keep contact between ancient students.  He continues to preside this association today. Contact : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Thomas Hainschwang

thomas-hainschwangDr. Thomas Hainschwang came into gemology by opening an expertise laboratory in Liechtenstein, "Gemlab", in 1999. Then he joined Franck Notari at the GIA Switzerland in Geneva, during the few years this lab did exist. In summer 2007, he took back the head of "gemlab", that later merged with Gemtechlab to create GGTL laboratories (Gemlab-GemTechLab) in 2011. He obtained his DUG diploma in 2003 on the origin of color in brown diamond, and his PhD in 2014 on type Ib natural diamond. In the meantime, he did not stop his partnership with Nantes for gemological research. Contact : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Boris Chauviré

boris-chauvireDr. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. followed a cursus in geology and gemology at the University of Nantes. His PhD focused on the genesis of opal at the surface of the Earth crust and how this can help interpreting geology on Mars. His Master's degree (2012), conducted in the field together with Vincent Pardieu (GIA Bangkok Laboratory), focused on the geological and gemological characterization of blue spinel from Luc Yen (North Vietnam). He also passed his DUG diploma (2012) on the genesis of gem opal by alteration of ultramafic geological units. He received the 2016 Gübelin Schloarship for a study on opal stability. Contact: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Blanca Mocquet

blanca-mocquetBlanca Mocquet is a geologist-engineer from Venezuela. She also obtaind a Master degree in geology at the university of Rennes I, France. She teaches classical gemology at Saumur, where she previously learnt about gemology. She obtained her DUG diploma in 2001 on the determination of archaelogical objects kept in Museums. She is a strong actor of the CRG Association, and participates to our gemological publications. Contact : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Yves Lulzac

yves-lulzacYves Lulzac is a geologist-engineer, now retired. He begn his career with prospecting unranium, then joined the BRGM (Bureau de Recherches Géologiques et Minières) as mining geologist, for tin, tungsten, gold... He learnt about gems on his own, so well that he could publish a very sharp "manual of determination of faceted gemstones" (in French). He participates to the gemological activities at the university as external consultant. Rare privilege, a new mineral species has been named after him: the lulzacite. This is a strontium phosphate forming dark green crystals, few centimeters long. Otherwise, Yves Lulzac focuses on ancient architecture in Britanny, and published 5 books on this topic. If you want to buy the "Manual of determination of faceted gemstones", contact the author: +33 1 40 74 07 57.

Stefanos Karampelas

Stefanos-KarampelasDr. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  is research director at DANAT (Bahrain Institute for Pearls and Gemstones) after seven years working as researcher at the Gübelin Gem lab and one year at the Gem Research Swisslab (GRS) both in Switzerland. He first followed a geological cursus at the university of Thessaloniki, Greece, then a Masters Degree at the University of Rennes, France, on the separation between natural and synthetic amethyst. He then obtained his DUG diploma in 2007 on unusual infrared absorptions of diamond in the one-phonon zone, then his PhD in 2008on the detection of treatment of pearls (thesis co-directed with the University of Thessaloniki and Pr. E. Fritsch, University of Nantes). his favorite research topics focus on pearls (natural versus cultured, natural versus treatment color, structure of non-nacreous pearls...) and how non-destructive methods may help in various gemmological issues. He also teaches some courses in the DUG program. Contact : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Franck Notari

franck-notariFranck Notari created GemTechLab in Geneva,Switzerland, in 1998. He was Research Manager and Laboratory Manager for GIA during two years. Since 2011, the lab merged with Gemlab to form GGTL Laboratories, co-directed by himself and Thomas Hainschwang. He strongly supports research activities at Nantes by providing samples, books, and employing students from Nantes. He published numerous articles in collaboration with Nantes, in particular on diamond (asteriated diamonds, CO2 diamonds, pink and brown diamonds...) and color stones (spinel, tanzanite, euclase...). He is also lecturer for the DUG program on treatments detection (corundum, tanzanite, black diamond), synthetic spinel, and Padparadscha sapphire (topic of his DUG diploma). Contact: http://www.ggtl-lab.org/

Jean-Pierre Chalain

jean-pierre-chalainJean-Pierre Chalain is gemologist and specialist of diamond. Hi got his DUG diploma in 1992, and then joined the SSEF (Basel, Switzerland) where hi is now Head of Diamond department. He shares his time between expertise, research, teaching, and relations between labs and market (CIBJO, LMHC, etc.). He is involved in research on diamond conducted at Nantes (black diamond, asteriated diamonds, HPHT-treated diamond) and often provides samples for research. Contact : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Cédric Simonet

cedric-simonetDr. Cédric Simonet followed the Geology cursus at the university of Nantes, while following the DUG program. He specialized in geology of corundum. On this topic, he obtained his DUG diploma in 1997, then his PhD thesis in 2000 under the direction of Pr. Bernard Lasnier. All his gemology-geology work is linked to his professional situation: after his Master Degree, Cédric Simonet joined the John Saul Ruby Mine in Kenya. He managed the mine until 2002. Then he came back in France as mining geologist for the fluorite mine in Tarn, France. The mine closed in 2007, he turned back in Kenya to create a prospecting and mining exploration society for gold and gemstones. Contact : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Eloïse Gaillou

dr-eloise-gaillouDr.  Eloïse Gaillou followed a geological cursus at the university of Nantes and  Clermont-Ferrand (France), and then focused on gemology. She got her DUG diploma in 2005 on "photoinduced absorptions in diamond". Then she was PhD student under the direction of Pr. Fritsch on opals (properties and conditions of formation). She was then Post-doc fellow at the Smithsonian Institute, and then at the Carnegie Institution, Washington D.C. , where she worked on the origin of pink color in natural diamonds and on the properties of blue diamonds. She also was curator of Earth Sciences collection of the Museum of Natural History of Los angeles, USA. Shis now curator of the Earth sciences collection at the Mines Museum in Paris, France. Contact : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Laurent Massi

laurent-massiInitially  student in organic chemistry, Dr. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. then turned toward inorganic chemistry. He discovered gemology at this occasion, by meeting Pr. Fritsch. He got his DUG diploma in 1999 on "diffusion in corundum". He passed his PhD in 2006 at the university of Nantes on "defects in brown diamonds and hydrogen-rich diamonds". Dr. Laurent Massi has been director of the AIGS lab (Asian Institute of Gemological Sciences), as well as director of the Education program of the AIGS Gemology school, both in Bangkok, Thailand. More details on Dr. Laurent Massi and the AIGS.

 

 

Additional information

L'équipe GEM Nantes

Les activités gemmologiques à Nantes sont assurées par des enseignants-chercheurs de l'Université et par divers partenaires.
Emmanuel Fritsch

dr-emmanuel-fritschDr. Emmanuel Fritsch, G.G., est professeur de Physique à l'université de Nantes depuis 1995. Il a obtenu sa thèse en géophysique et géodynamique interne à l'université de Paris VII en 1985, sur la coloration parasitaire des verres de silice industriels. Il a ensuite été recruté comme post-doctorant, puis chercheur en gemmologie au GIA (Gemological Institute of America) où il a été manager du GIA Research de 1993 à 1995. Il est aujourd'hui responsable pédagogique des formations en gemmologie à Nantes, notamment le DUG, pour lesquelles il assure une grande partie des enseignements. Ses thèmes de recherche sont nombreux, notamment l'origine de la couleur dans les gemmes (le diamant en particulier), l’application des méthodes spectroscopiques aux problèmes gemmologiques,  les interrelations entre mode de formation et propriétés des gemmes. Il a récemment étudié les opales gemmes, et les pigments des perles, nacres et coraux (voir nos publications).  Contact : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

Benjamin Rondeau

benjamin-rondeauDr. Benjamin Rondeau est Maître de Conférences au Laboratoire de Planétologie et Géodynamique de Nantes, spécialisé en gemmologie et minéralogie. Il a obtenu son DUG en 1998 sur la structure et la coloration des opales communes, puis sa thèse de doctorat en 2003 sur l'intérêt des collections d'histoire naturelle pour la gemmologie. Il a travaillé au Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle (Paris) de 1999 à 2007 comme attaché à la conservation des collections de gemmes, minéraux et roches endogènes, et a participé à l'organisation de nombreuses expositions, dont DIAMANTS en 2001. Ses domaines de recherche privilégiés portent sur les conditions de genèse des gemmes (diamant et opale en particulier) et le lien avec leur origine géographique (voir nos publications). Il assure également de nombreux cours en DUG. Contact : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

Bernard Lasnier

bernard-lasnierBernard Lasnier, Professeur Emérite, a fait toute sa carrière à l'université de Nantes. Géologue et pétrographe des roches profondes, il s'est spécialisé en gemmologie dans les années 1980. Ses travaux ont principalement porté sur la gîtologie des gemmes, en particulier sur le corindon. Bernard Lasnier est le fondateur des formations en gemmologie à Nantes : il a créé le DUG en 1982, pour répondre à l'attente des professionnels. Il a également créé en 1987, en compagnie de Pierre Fumey, l'association Jean-Pierre Chenet, plus connue comme Centre de Recherches  Gemmologique (CRG). Il est toujours président de cette association. Contact : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

Thomas Hainschwang

thomas-hainschwangDr. Thomas Hainschwang est expert gemmologue et directeur au GGTL. Il a débuté dans la gemmologie en créant un laboratoire d'expertise gemmologique au Liechtenstein, "Gemlab", en 1999. Il a ensuite rejoint Franck Notari au GIA Switzerland à Genève pendant les quelques années d'existence de ce laboratoire. A l’été 2007, il a repris la direction de Gemlab, laboratoire qui a fusionné avec Gemtechlab en 2011 pour former le GGTL (Gemlab-GemTechLab). Il a obtenu son DUG en 2003 sur l'origine de la couleur des diamants bruns, et en 2014 sa thèse de doctorat à l'université de Nantes sur les diamants naturels de type Ib. Contact : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

Boris Chauviré

boris-chauvireDr. Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. s'est formé à la géologie et la gemmologie à l'université de Nantes. Sa thèse de doctorat obtenue en 2015 (sous la direction de Nicolas Mangold et Benjamin Rondeau) porte sur la genèse de l'opale dans la partie superficielle de la croûte terrestre et les implications de ces processus de genèse sur la silice observée sur Mars. Son mémoire de Master (2012), préparé sur le terrain avec Vincent Pardieu (GIA Bangkok Laboratory), a porté sur la caractérisation géologique et gemmologique des spinelles bleus de Luc Yen (Nord du Vietnam). Il a également obtenu en 2012 son DUG sur les silices gemmes issues de l'altération de massifs ultrabasiques. Par passion, il visite les mines de gemme autour du monde (souvent avec V. Pardieu). Après le Vietnam, la Thaïlande, le Sri Lanka, Madagascar, le Kenya, le Mozambique... il est aujourd'hui récipiendaire de la bourse Gübelin finançant des projets d'intérêt gemmologiques. le voyage continue !

Blanca Mocquet

blanca-mocquetBlanca Mocquet est ingénieur géologue formée au Vénézuela, et elle a obtenu un DEA de géologie à l'université de Rennes I. Elle s'est ensuite formée à la gemmologie classique en suivant les cours de gemmologie au CFA de Saumur, où elle enseigne à son tour aujourd'hui. Elle a obtenu son DUG en 2003, sur la détermination d'objets archéologiques conservés dans les musées. Elle dispense également aujourd'hui des cours particuliers de gemmologie, et assure pour le compte du CRG la tenue du stand d'identification des gemmes lors des principales bourses aux minéraux. Contact : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

Yves Lulzac

yves-lulzacYves Lulzac est ingénieur géologue. Aujourd'hui retraité, il a débuté sa carrière dans la recherche d’uranium (au CFMU et CEA) puis a poursuivi l’essentiel de sa carrière au BRGM (Bureau de Recherches Géologiques et Minières) comme géologue minier (recherche d’étain, tungstène, or…). Il s'est forgé une solide connaissance des gemmes en autodidacte tout au long de sa carrière, et a édité un Manuel de Détermination des Pierres Taillées. Il est aujourd'hui secrétaire général du CRG. Yves Lulzac a eu le privilège rare de voir une nouvelle espèce minérale nommée en son honneur, la lulzacite. Il s'agit d'un phosphate de strontium, qui forme des cristaux vert sombre de plusieurs centimètres, qu’il a lui-même découvert. Par ailleurs, Yves Lulzac est spécialiste en généalogie régionale (bretonne) et a publié cinq ouvrages sur les manoirs bas-léonards.  Pour vous procurer le Manuel de Détermination des Pierres Taillées, contactez directement l'auteur : 02 40 74 07 57.

Stefanos Karampelas

Stefanos-KarampelasDr. Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. est directeur de recherche au DANAT (Bahrain Institute for Pearls and Gemstones) à Manama (Bahreïn) après sept ans passés comme chercheur au Gübelin Gen Lab à Lucerne (Suisse) et un an au Gem Research Swisslab (GRS) à Meggen (Suisse). Il a suivi des études universitaires de géologie à l'université Aristote de Thessalonique (Grèce) puis son Diplôme d'Etudes Approfondies (DEA) en géosciences à l'université de Rennes I sur la séparation des améthystes naturelles et synthétiques. Il a soutenu son DUG en 2007 sur les absorptions inhabituelles du diamant dans la zone à 1 phonon, puis sa thèse de doctorat en 2008 sur la détection du traitement dans les perles (en cotutelle entre l'université Aristote de Thessalonique et l'université de Nantes, sous la direction du Pr. Fritsch). Ses thèmes de recherche principaux portent sur les perles (naturelle vs culture, couleur naturelle vs couleur traitée, structures des perles non-nacrées etc.), l'application des méthodes non-destructives aux divers problèmes gemmologiques, l’origine géographique des pierres de couleur et leur traitement. Il participe également à l'enseignement et au jury du DUG. Contact : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.



Franck Notari

franck-notariFranck Notari a créé le laboratoire GemTechLab, à Genève - Suisse en 1998. Il a été durant deux années Research Manager et Laboratory Manager au GIA. Depuis l'été 2011, il co-dirige avec Thomas Hainschwang le GGTL (Gemlab-GemTechLab), issu de la fusion de leurs deux laboratoires. Il soutient les activités de recherche de la gemmologie à Nantes en fournissant documentation, échantillons et en ouvrant les portes de son laboratoire à fins de stages aux étudiants de Nantes. Il a publié de nombreux articles en collaboration avec Nantes, en particulier sur le diamant (diamants astériés, diamant à CO2, diamants roses et bruns...) et les pierres de couleur (spinelle, tanzanite, euclase...). Il intervient également dans l'enseignement du DUG avec des cours sur la détection des traitements (corindon, tanzanite, diamant noir), des synthèses (spinelle), et sur le saphir Padparadscha (son sujet de DUG). Pour plus de détails sur les activités de Franck Notari et de ses collaborateurs, consultez le site internet de son laboratoire : http://www.gemtechlab.ch.

Jean-Pierre Chalain

jean-pierre-chalainJean-Pierre Chalain est gemmologue spécialiste du diamant. Il a obtenu son DUG en 1992 puis a été recruté à l'Institut Suisse de Gemmologie SSEF (Bâle, Suisse), où il exerce aujourd'hui les fonctions de Directeur du Département Diamant. Il partage son temps entre expertises, recherches, enseignement et relations entre laboratoires et marché (CIBJO, LMHC, etc.). Il est impliqué dans la recherche sur le diamant menée à Nantes (diamants noirs, diamants astériés, diamants traités HPHT) et fournit souvent des échantillons pour la recherche. Contact : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

Cédric Simonet

cedric-simonetDr. Cédric Simonet a fait ses études de géologie à l'université de Nantes, tout en suivant les cours de DUG. Il s'est spécialisé dans la gîtologie du corindon : sur ce sujet, il a soutenu son mémoire de DUG en 1997, puis sa thèse de doctorat sous la direction du Pr. Bernard Lasnier en 2000. Tous ces travaux sont directement liés à sa situation professionnelle : après son DEA en 1996, Cédric Simonet avait été recruté comme géologue-gemmologue à la mine de rubis John Saul au Kenya. Il a dirigé la mine jusqu'en 2002, avant de rentrer en France en 2003 pour travailler comme géologue et responsable d'exploitation aux mines de spath-fluor du Tarn. La parenthèse française s'est refermée en été 2007, puisqu'il est retourné à Nairobi pour prendre la direction d'une société d'exploration et de développement minier opérant au Kenya et au Burundi dans le domaine de l'or, et aussi pour être au plus près des mines de gemmes kenyanes! Contact : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

Eloïse Gaillou

dr-eloise-gaillouDr.  Eloïse Gaillou a suivi des études universitaires de géologie (Nantes, Clermont-Ferrand) avant de se spécialiser en gemmologie. Elle a soutenu son DUG en 2005 sur les absorptions photo-induites dans le diamant, puis sa thèse (sous la direction du Pr. Fritsch) sur les propriétés et les conditions de genèse de l'opale. Elle a ensuite passé 4 ans en post-doctorat à la Smithsonian Institution, puis à la Carnegie Institution à Washington D.C. (USA) pour étudier l'origine de la couleur des diamants roses et les propriétés physico-chimiques des diamants bleus. Elle est aujourd'hui conservatrice des collections de Sciences de la Terre au Muséum d'Histoire Naturelle de Los Angeles (USA). Elle étudie les conditions de genèse du diamant (analyse d'inclusions, signature isotopique, datation Re-Os, etc.) afin de mieux comprendre la composition du manteau ainsi que les processus de subduction. Contact : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

Laurent Massi

laurent-massiAprès des études en chimie organique, Dr. Laurent Massi s'est orienté vers la chimie inorganique. Passionné depuis tout jeune par les minéraux, il a découvert la gemmologie de laboratoire au contact du Pr. Fritsch. Il a d'abord obtenu son DUG en 1999 sur les "Corindons diffusés", puis sa thèse de physique en 2006 a l'Université de Nantes, sur "L'Etude des défauts dans les diamants bruns et les diamants riches en hydrogène", sous la direction du Pr. Fritsch. Pendant 3 ans, Dr. Massi a été le Directeur du Laboratoire AIGS (Asian Institute of Gemological Sciences) à Bangkok en Thaïlande. En 2011, il a été nommé Directeur du nouveau campus du GIA Thaïlande situé au cœur du quartier des gemmes de Bangkok. Contact : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

Informations supplémentaires